Crayon Box Sunday September 9, 2012, Proper 18


Object:            A large box of crayons

Scripture:  My brothers, as believers in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ, don’t show favoritism…. If you really keep the royal law found in Scripture, “Love your neighbor as yourself,” you are doing right. But if you show favoritism, you sin and are convicted by the law as lawbreakers. James 2:1, 8-9 (NIV)

or

Object: new shoes and old shoes

I brought two sets of shoes that I own one is new and one is old.  I love my wrestling shoes, every time I put them on it reminds me of all the years of training and all the students I have worked with at various high schools. The other shoe is my grass cutting shoes they are old and worn, they smell funny, I only wear them when I have cut the grass, which usually is on a hot sunny day.

Do you have a favourite pair of shoes you like to wear?  that’s great.

From time to time I have volunteered with Sanctuary missions which is a organization that helps those who are homeless. One of the things I have been trained to notice when I have done street engagement with those who are homeless in Toronto is to always pay attention to the shoes. I have been told one of the signs you can know how long someone has been homeless is by the condition of their shoes.

In the book of James he challenges us all to not look at the outside appearance of people to determine if we want to be nice to them or welcome them to the church.  All of you started school this week and probably meet some old friends and maybe made some new friends. I remember my first day of school in Canada living in Barrie, I was in kindergarden and sadly there were many kids who didn’t like me because of the colour of my skin and they used very mean words to let me know, I looked different and sounded different from other kids. After a week of this there were kids who looked past the colour of my skin and reached out to me in friendship and many years later they are still my friends today.

Jesus wants us to treat those who are not our friends or look different from us or dress different from us, in the same manner we treat our friends and family, for when we do that we are actually showing love to Jesus, which is one of the signs that we are his disciples.

Let us pray.

Leave a Reply

