Prince of Peace by Akiane Kramarik


 

Image

 

Prince of Peace Poem and Painting
By Akiane Kramarik

Perhaps I wanted to catch it
perhaps not

But one morning
an eagle dropped a diamond

And right then
with my faulty brush
full of my own hair
I wanted to paint

I wanted to paint the wings-
Too late – they flew away
I wanted to paint a flower
Too late – it withered

That night the rain
was running after me
Each drop of rain
showed God’s face
His face was everywhere
On homes and on me

I wrung out the love
to make the red

I wrung out the stumps
to make the brown

I wrung out the trust
to make the pink

I wrung out my own eyes
to make the blue

I wrung out the seaweed
to make the green

I wrung out the nightly pain
to make the black

I wrung out my grandmother’s hair
to make the gray

I wrung out my visions
to make the violet

I wrung out the truth
to make the white

Today I want to paint God’s face
IT’S NOT TOO LATE !

Leave a Reply

